Skip to toolbar

Qatar Airways Resumes Kigali and Nairobi Flight Services

Qatar Airways has announced resumption of flight services to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, Nairobi Kenya, with 14 weekly flights and Kigali International Airport, Rwanda, with three weekly flights.

Qatar Airways Company Q.C.S.C., operating as Qatar Airways, is the state-owned flag carrier of Qatar.

With the addition of the two destinations, the airline now operates 33 weekly flights to eight destinations in Africa including Addis Ababa, Dar es Salaam, Djibouti, Kilimanjaro, Tunis and Zanzibar.

Qatar Airways has a strong relationship with Kenya and Rwanda with almost 15 years of operations to Nairobi and eight years of operations to Kigali. Qatar Airways Group chief executive, Akbar Al Baker, said: We are delighted to resume flights to Nairobi and Kigali, totaling our flights to 33 weekly flights into Africa with eight destinations.

“Qatar Airways continues to maintain an expanding schedule with now more than 500 weekly flights to over 75 destinations. During the pandemic, Qatar Airways have become the largest global carrier to maintain its schedule in taking people home with the highest safety measures.

“Our wide network of flights during these challenging times has ensured we have kept up to date with the latest in international airport procedures. We also implemented the most advanced safety and hygiene measures on board our aircraft and in our home and hub at Hamad International Airport.”

Qatar Airways operated flight to 21 destinations before the COVID19 pandemic led to suspension of flight services.

The middle-east carrier served twenty one African destinations before suspension of flight services due to the COVID19 pandemic. The cities are Addis Ababa, Algiers, Casablanca, Cape Town, Dar es Salaam, Djibouti City, Durban, Entebbe, Johannesburg, Khartoum, Kigali, Kilimanjaro, Lagos, Mahe, Maputo, Marrakech, Nairobi, Seychelles, Tunis, Windhoek and Zanzibar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *