No-fly Zones Around The World For Commercial Airlines

Following the recent plane crash of a Russian passenger jet flying 224 tourists from Sharm el-Sheikh – An Egyptian resort area between the desert of the Sinai Peninsula and the Red Sea popular for its long beaches and clear waters, speculation has grown that the crash might have been caused by an ISIS planted bomb.

Foreign Office advises against travel to: Afghanistan, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Guinea, Iraq, Libya, Mauritania, Niger, Palestinian territories, Somalia, Somaliland, South Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, Yemen. 

The tragic development has prompted US Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) to add the Egypt’s Sinai peninsula to a growing list of no-fly zones around the world.

According to the US Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), six countries – Libya, Somalia, Yemen, Syria, North Korea and Iraq – are completely off-limits to commercial airlines, as are parts of Ukraine, where Malaysia Airlines Flight 17 was shot down in July 2014.

Each of these countries, bar North Korea, are deemed unsafe for British visitors by the Foreign Office due to ongoing conflict and the risk of terrorist attacks and kidnapping.

FAA flight restrictions are in place over Mali, Kenya, South Sudan, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Iran, Afghanistan and South Korea, as well as parts of Egypt.

The Foreign Office continues to advise against all but essential air travel to Sharm el Sheikh, Egypt, following the crash of a Russian flight in the Sinai.

“There is a significant possibility that the crash was caused by an explosive device,” it adds.

Of the vast Sinai region, only the areas within the Sharm el Sheikh perimeter barrier, which includes the resorts of Sharm el Maya, Hadaba, Naama Bay, Sharks Bay and Nabq, is open to tourists. However, the flight ban means that this area is also effectively off-limits. A large swathe of land to the west of the Nile Valley is also unsafe to visit, the Foreign Office says.

The Foreign Office advises against travel to all or part of more than 60 nations around the world, including the whole of Afghanistan, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Guinea, Iraq, Libya, Mauritania, Niger, Palestine, Somalia/Somaliland, South Sudan, Syria and Yemen.



Profile photo of Admin

About Admin

TravelOrbit is your one-stop shop for Flight Bookings, Hotel Reservation, Airport Pickup & Dropoff, Visas, Travel Insurance and Holiday Packages.|07056289161|2AFC327A
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *